Board Members


The CMC State board members are elected to a 2-year term of office by a general election of the members of CMC. Nominations to these offices may be made by any member or affiliate group. Election ballots are mailed out to the membership in September.

2015-2016 State Board Officers


vierra Carroll

Vicki Vierra, Oxnard

President Elect:
Cathy Carroll, San Mateo
Durias Bruce Grip CMC

Ruby Durias, Oxnard

Bruce Grip, Redlands

The CMC State Board is comprised of the elected state officers, elected section officers, appointed committee chairs and appointed representatives.

The State Board has appointed the following to take care of special activities:

Committee Chairs


Awards and Recognition



Donna Goldenstein, San Leandro

Janet Trentacosta, El Cajon
ComMuniCator Editor

Communication and Advocacy

Membership and Promotions


Rosa SerratoreSanta Monica

Hope Bjerke, Palo Cedro


Professional Development

Jeannie Toshima, South Pasadena

Joan Easterday, Santa Rosa

Student Activity Trust Fund

Student Activity Trust Fund Treasurer

Natalie Mejia, Santa Maria
Student Activity Trust Fund (SATF)

Chris Tsuji, San Jose
SATF Treasurer

CMC invites organizations whose mission and vision complement that of CMC to participate in an exchange of information and to provide mutual support. The following represent those organizations:



Benjamin Banneker Association


Emily Dixon
Benjamin Banneker Association

Kathy Woods, Madera
BSMARTE Representative

California Association of
Mathematics Teacher Educators

California Department of Education 
Gretchen Muller, Kentfield Emily Oliva, Sacramento
CDE Representative

California Mathematics Council –
Community Colleges

California Mathematics Project

James Sullivan,
Community Colleges Representative

Tina Setser
California Math Project Advisory Board

California Teachers Association

Lori Adams, Burbank
CTA Representative

Brenda Hensley, Napa
CTA Representative

NCTM: National Council for
Teachers of Mathematics

NCSM: National Council of
Supervisors of Mathematics


Kathlan Latimer, Suisun City
NCTM Representative

Hope Bjerke, Palo Cedro
NCSM Representative

Outreach: State Board of Education

TODOS: Mathematics for All

Giovanna Stephens, Chico
California State Board of Education Liaison

Ana England, Santa Cruz
TODOS Representative


Executive Secretary


Gretchen Muller, Kentfield
Executive Secretary